Get Your Free Goodie Box here

A Snapshot Into Election History in Pakistan by James Parker - HTML preview

PLEASE NOTE: This is an HTML preview only and some elements such as links or page numbers may be incorrect.
Download the book in PDF, ePub, Kindle for a complete version.

List of Abbreviations

AKMC          Azad Kashmir Muslim Conference

AL                Awami League

ANP             Awami National Party

APDM          All Pakistan Democratic Movement

BISP            Benazir Income Support Program

BNM            Balochistan National Movement,

BNP-H         Balochistan National Party-Hayee

BNP-M         Balochistan National Party-Mengal

BUF             Balochistan United Front

C-in C          Commander in chief

CoAS           Chief of Army Staff

FATA           Federally Administered Tribal Areas

HPG            Haq Parast Group

IGD              Islami Gonotontri Dal

IJI                Islami Jamhoori Ittehad

JIP               Jamaat-i-Islami Pakistan

JUI               Jamiat-i-Ulema-i-Islam

JUI-F           Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Islam-Fazlur Rahman,

JUI-M           Jamiat-i-Ulema-i-Islam-Mahmud

JUI-S           Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Islam Sami-ul-Haq

JUP             Jamiat-i-Ulema-i-Pakistan

JWP            Jamhoori Watan Party

KPK             Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

KT                Khaksar Tehrik

LFO             Legal Framework Order

MDM            Muttahida Deeni Mahaz

MJAHP        Markazi Jamiat-e-Ahle-Hadees Pakistan

MJUP           Markazi Jamiat-ul-Ulema Pakistan

MMA            Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal

MQM           Muhajir Qaumi Movement

MRD            Movement for the Restoration of Democracy

MWMP        Majlis Wahdatul Muslemeen, Pakistan

NA               the National Alliance

NAP-W        National Awami Party-Wali

NDP             National Democratic Party,

NFC             National Finance Commission

NPP             National People's Party

NRO            National Reconciliation Ordinance

NWFP          North West Frontier province

OGRA          Oil& Gas Regulatory Authority

PAI              Pakistan Awami Ittehad

PCO            Provisional Constitutional Order

PDF             Pakistan Democratic Front

PDP             Pakistan Democratic Party,

PHP             Pakistan Hindu Party

PkMAP        Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party

PML-Pg       Pakistan Muslim League- Pagaro Group

PML             Pakistan Muslim League

PML-Cl        Pakistan Muslim League-Council

PML-Cn       Pakistan Muslim League-Convention

PML-F         Pakistan Muslim League-Functional

PML-J          Pakistan Muslim League-Junejo

PML-N         Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz

PML-Q         Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-i-Azam

PML-Qm       Pakistan Muslim League-Qayyum

PNA             Pakistan National Alliance

PNP             Pakistan National Party

PPIS            Punjabi Pakhtoon Ittehad Sindh

PPP             Pakistan People's Party

PPPP          Pakistan People's Party Parliamentarian

PPP-SB       Pakistan Peoples Party-Shaheed Bhutto

PPP-Sh       Pakistan People's Party-Sherpao

PTI              Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf

QWP-Sh      Qaumi Watan Party (Sherpao)

SKMPPMM   Sindh-Karachi Mohajir Punjabi-Pathan Mutahida Mahaz

TI                 Tehrik-i-Istiqlal

UCF             United Christian Front